Ard Scoil na nDéise
Convent Road, Dungarvan
County Waterford, Ireland

Tel: (058) 41464

"Reaching our Potential with Respect, Care and Friendship"

Ard Scoil Awards Night 2010

Our annual Awards Ceremony to recognise the many talents and achievements of our fabulous students took place Friday night in the School.

The event was emceed by the irrepressible Mr. Tommy Collins, who handled it with his usual ease and wit.

Eilis O’Keeffe and Megan Daly, two of our sixth year students, set the proceedings rolling by reading the citations for the class awards. The recipients were Kayleigh Hanley 1.1, Roisin Leonard 1.2, Jessica Bannon 2.1, Chloe Keane 2.2, Jennifer Meehan 3.1, Una McGrath 3.2, Jennifer Moore TYA, Alison O’Sullivan TYB, Roisin Tobin, Frances Fitzgerald and Lucy Whelan (all fifth year), Roisin Feeney, Anna Landers, Grace Collender and Charmaine O’Brien (outgoing sixth years). These girls are chosen by their class mates to receive this award and among the heart warming citations were comments such as: “She is always courteous”, “a loyal friend”, has a “friendly smile”, “funny as well as generous”, “an ‘awesome’ friend” “brilliant listener” “A real loony tune but we love her” and “inspiring”. It is great to see that such qualities are valued and praised.

Next we had the Special Awards which cover a wide variety of categories.

Music teacher Mrs Ciara Lucey presented music awards to Dearbhla Coffey, Anna Landers, Clara Mannion, Aoife Landers, Amy Faherty, Muireann O’Brien, Jennifer Moore and Frances Fitzgerald. Last year’s Senior Choir, who entertained us beautifully so often, also received an award.

More of the Special Awards were announced as follows: Elocution Award – Roisin Leonard and Clara Mannion; Dail na nOg Award – Tabitha Alexander and Emma de Paor; Public Speaking Award – Eilis O’Keeffe, Megan Daly, Andrea Foley and Grace O’Sullivan; Debating (Mental Health Awareness) – Eilis O’Keeffe, Aoife Hayes, Ciara Maureen Walsh and Paulina Mastalerz; Student’s Council Award – Lucy Whelan, Eilis O’Keeffe and Megan Daly; Merit Award – Aisling Cronin, Sophie Allen, Sophie Duhig, Claire Crowley, Ayesha Troy and tara Roche; Pantomime Award – Rebecca Hodnett and Samantha Hayes; Full  Attendance for 2 years – Hannah O’Connell, Tabitha Alexander and Siobhan Nugent.

The Spirit of TY award went to Kristie Foley. From the very beginning Kristie fully embraced Transition Year. Enthusiasm, interest and motivation defined her ethic in both classes and in extra curricular activity. She took part in the Gaisce Challenge, The Homework Club, The Cookery Competition and fundraising for various charities, in particular the Donkey Sanctuary for which she personally organised fundraising. Kristie also managed to spare time for theatrics by taking part in the Pantomime. On top of all this she completed the notoriously difficult ECDL.

Onto the Sports Awards and we were delighted to welcome back former student Shona Curran, a recipient of so many of these awards herself! Shona is still going strong in her sporting pursuits, and two weeks ago was voted player of the match when her club Lismore won the Munster intermediate title. Last weekend at the All Star awards in Dublin she was presented with a Soaring Star Award.

The following girls received awards for their involvements in the following sporting activities: Athletics, Cross Country, Football, Camogie, Hockey, Handball, Soccer and Show Jumping – Claire Collins, Laura Connors, Meabh de Burca, Aileen Gallagher, Aoife Landers, Rebecca Maher, Lauren McGregor, Kaylee Norris, Siobhan Nugent, Ciara Scanlan, Zoe Scanlon and Roisin Tobin.

Our Munster Under 16 ½ camogie champions: Orla Dunne, Shauna Ferncombe, Orla Hickey, Louise Hyslop, Jenna Kiely, Aoife Landers, Lauren McGregor, Angela McIntosh, Siobhan Nugent, Jessica O’Brien, Hannah O’Connell, Roisin O’Flynn, Eimear O’Donnell-Maldonado, Stella Queally, Ciara Scanlan, Jessica Troy, Kayleigh Veale and Nikita Whelan.

  • Junior Sports Star of the year – Aoife Landers
  • Senior Sports Star of the year – Ciara Scanlan

Our guest speaker was past pupil and esteemed writer Clodagh Beresford Dunne, was introduced to the audience by Principal Mrs Dorothy Hughes. In her eloquent speech she spoke of the value of education, the joys and opportunities it can bring. Speaking of her poetic career she related an anecdote wherein she met poet Brendan Kenelly, whom she admired greatly. In conversation with him she learned a very important lesson, that “the antidote to depression is expression”, which she found particularly relevant following the birth of her first baby. She enthralled her audience and ended with a poem she wrote about meeting up with old school friends years after graduation.

Following Clodagh’s address, Mrs Hughes presented the awards for academic achievement, which are based on Junior and Leaving Cert. results.

The following students were commended for their excellent Junior Cert Results: Abigail de Souza, Tabitha Alexander, Una McGrath, Hannah O’Connell, Niamh Wade, Aine Power and Frances Whelan.

Their outstanding leaving cert marks resulted in awards for the following girls: Christina Moore, Aisling Hourigan, Grace Collender, Jenny Burke, Roisin Feeney, Rebecca Power, Tara ni Fhoghlu, Muriel Moore and Aisling Scanlan.

Grace also received the Margaret Radley Geography Award for the highest marks in the Leaving Cert Geography exam. This award, which honours our late colleague Mrs Radley, was presented by her daughter Denise.

In her closing speech Mrs Hughes thanked our guest speaker and presenters, our generous sponsors, the musicians who entertained us, the Award’s Committee and our wonderful Parents’ Council, who once again provided refreshments after the ceremony.

Our sponsors were Celtic Linen, Chris Havers, Codex, Copymore Ltd., David Walsh, East Cork Oil, Gem Cleaning, Ger Wyley Sports, Jim Conroy, Jitterbeans, Kilnatoorna Cleaners, Pat Whyte (Easons), Paul Lane, Philip Dunne, Quick Pick, Sip’n’Surf, The Park Hotel, Tomas Walsh and Twomey’s Eurospar.



home | about us | academics/services | policies | extracurricular | news | calendar | contact


Ard Scoil na nDéise
Convent Road, Dungarvan
County Waterford, Ireland
Tel: (058) 41464
Fax: (058) 44801

  © Ard Scoil na nDéise. All Rights Reserved.